Poster prize

To celebrate the high quality of clinical and biomedical posters presented by early-career researchers during the symposium, the MND Association presents the International Symposium on ALS/MND biomedical and clinical poster prize.

The winners of the poster prize are announced during the Joint Closing session of the Symposium, where the winners are presented with a certificate, engraved glass paperweight, and from 2018, they will also be offered a free space at the upcoming Symposium. Usually, one prize is given for the clinical poster and one for the biomedical poster.

This is an exciting opportunity, which raises the profile of the posters and enables winners to add the award to their CV.

Criteria and eligibility

Who can enter?

Presenting authors aged 35 years or under on 5 June 2020, or within three years of their PhD award are eligible to enter their abstract for the poster prize during the abstract submission process.  If the presenter does not qualify, the poster will not be considered for the prize.

How do I enter?

Eligible poster presenters will need to indicate that they want to be considered for the Poster Prize during the abstract submission process (28 June 2021 – 29 July 2021). To do this, please tick the corresponding box within the online abstract submission form.

How will the competition be judged?

To generate the clinical and biomedical poster shortlists, members of the Symposium Programme Committee will review and assess abstracts on the quality of the content. All poster presenters are required to submit a PDF and video of their poster before the conference (deadline 4 November 2021). Posters from the shortlisted abstracts will be viewed before the Symposium and judged based on the poster contentdesign and layoutpresentation of the poster.

Presentation of the Prize

The winners of the clinical and biomedical Poster Prize will be announced during the Closing session on Friday 10 December 2021. Winners will be awarded a certificate, an engraved glass paperweight, and a free registration place for the 2022 International Symposium on ALS/MND.

Poster Prize winners 2019

Clinical Poster Prize

Ruben van Eijk from University Medical Centre Utrecht, Netherlands
'Optimising the ALSFRS-R as a clinical trial endpoint'  (CLT-14)

Biomedical Poster Prize

Laura Reale from University of Tasmania, Australia
‘Does mislocalised TDP-43 in excitatory neurons of the motor cortex cause ALS-like pathology in the spinal cord?’ (IVV-32)

Nora Markus, University of Sheffield, UK
‘AI-led drug discovery identifies Nilotinib as a lead compound for ALS’ (TST-41)